Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
South Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for South Dakota

Time Zone: Walworth County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Selby is the Seat for Walworth County.

Walworth County was founded in 1873 and was created by taking area from BuffaloCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Walworth had a population of 5,228 people. This is a decrease of 12.49% since the last Census (which gave a population of 5,974 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Walworth represented 0.79% of the total population of South Dakota, making it the state's 31st most populous county (out of 66 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20105,438-8.97%+4.02% since 2009
20095,228-12.49%-0.57% since 2008
20085,258-11.99%-0.25% since 2007
20005,974The Last Census

More information can be found on the Walworth County Census Page for Walworth County.


Below are some of the communities located in Walworth County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Walworth County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Mobridge   3,1423,57412.09% decrease  
Selby   64773612.09% decrease  
Java   16919714.21% decrease  
Glenham   11913914.39% decrease  
Akaska   29316.45% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About South Dakota

The Communities of South Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation