Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
South Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for South Dakota

Time Zone: Turner County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Parker is the Seat for Turner County.

Turner County was founded in 1871 and was created by taking area from LincolnCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Turner had a population of 8,237 people. This is a decrease of 6.92% since the last Census (which gave a population of 8,849 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Turner represented 1.17% of the total population of South Dakota, making it the state's 21st most populous county (out of 66 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20108,347-5.67%+1.34% since 2009
20098,237-6.92%-0.95% since 2008
20088,316-6.02%-0.54% since 2007
20008,849The Last Census

More information can be found on the Turner County Census Page for Turner County.


Below are some of the communities located in Turner County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Turner County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Parker   9711,0315.82% decrease  
Centerville   8309108.79% decrease  
Marion   8118929.08% decrease  
Viborg   7598328.77% decrease  
Irene   3964328.33% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About South Dakota

Index of Cities, Towns and Villages for South Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation