Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
South Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for South Dakota

Time Zone: Moody County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Flandreau is the Seat for Moody County.

Moody County was founded in 1873. Moody was created by taking area from Brookings and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Moody had a population of 6,375 people. This is a decrease of 3.34% since the last Census (which gave a population of 6,595 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Moody represented 0.87% of the total population of South Dakota, making it the state's 28th most populous county (out of 66 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20106,486-1.65%+1.74% since 2009
20096,375-3.34%-0.98% since 2008
20086,438-2.38%-1.14% since 2007
20006,595The Last Census

More information can be found on the Moody County Census Page for Moody County.


Below are some of the communities located in Moody County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Moody County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Flandreau   2,2012,3767.37% decrease  
Colman   5505723.85% decrease  
Egan   2442657.92% decrease  
Trent   2352547.48% decrease  
Ward   484117.07% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About South Dakota

Index of Cities, Towns and Villages for South Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation