Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
South Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for South Dakota

Time Zone: McPherson County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Leola is the Seat for McPherson County.

McPherson County was founded in 1873 and was created by taking area from BuffaloCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> McPherson had a population of 2,439 people. This is a decrease of 16.01% since the last Census (which gave a population of 2,904 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, McPherson represented 0.38% of the total population of South Dakota, making it the state's 51st most populous county (out of 66 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20102,459-15.32%+0.82% since 2009
20092,439-16.01%-1.85% since 2008
20082,485-14.43%-0.16% since 2007
20002,904The Last Census

More information can be found on the McPherson County Census Page for McPherson County.


Below are some of the communities located in McPherson County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for McPherson County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Eureka   9261,10115.89% decrease  
Central McPherson   55665815.5% decrease  
Leola   38346217.1% decrease  
West McPherson   30736716.35% decrease  
Long Lake   485817.24% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About South Dakota

The Communities of South Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation