Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
South Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for South Dakota

Time Zone: McCook County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Salem is the Seat for McCook County.

McCook County was founded in 1873 and was created by taking area from HansonCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> McCook had a population of 5,619 people. This is a decrease of 3.65% since the last Census (which gave a population of 5,832 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, McCook represented 0.77% of the total population of South Dakota, making it the state's 33rd most populous county (out of 66 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20095,619-3.65%-0.37% since 2008
20085,640-3.29%-1.48% since 2007
20005,832The Last Census

More information can be found on the McCook County Census Page for McCook County.


Below are some of the communities located in McCook County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for McCook County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Salem   1,3061,3714.74% decrease  
Canistota   6477007.57% decrease  
Bridgewater   5506079.39% decrease  
Montrose   4434603.7% decrease  
Salem   1811957.18% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About South Dakota

Communities in South Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation