Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
South Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for South Dakota

Time Zone: Lincoln County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Canton is the Seat for Lincoln County.

Lincoln County was founded in 1867.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Lincoln had a population of 41,218 people. This is an increase of 70.81% since the last Census (which gave a population of 24,131 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Lincoln represented 3.2% of the total population of South Dakota, making it the state's 7th most populous county (out of 66 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201044,828+85.77%+8.76% since 2009
200941,218+70.81%+3.86% since 2008
200839,685+64.46%+5.13% since 2007
200024,131The Last Census

More information can be found on the Lincoln County Census Page for Lincoln County.


Below are some of the communities located in Lincoln County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Lincoln County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Harrisburg   5,410958464.7% increase  
Tea   4,6231,742165.4% increase  
Canton   4,2693,11037.27% increase  
Lennox   2,8422,03739.52% increase  
Worthing   1,174585100.7% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About South Dakota

Search for a South Dakota Community

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation