Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
South Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for South Dakota

Time Zone: Hughes County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Pierre is the Seat for Hughes County. Pierre is also the capital of South Dakota.

Hughes County was founded in 1880 and was created by taking area from BuffaloCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Hughes had a population of 16,969 people. This is an increase of 2.96% since the last Census (which gave a population of 16,481 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Hughes represented 2.18% of the total population of South Dakota, making it the state's 12th most populous county (out of 66 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201017,022+3.28%+0.31% since 2009
200916,969+2.96%+1.05% since 2008
200816,793+1.89%-0.87% since 2007
200016,481The Last Census

More information can be found on the Hughes County Census Page for Hughes County.


Below are some of the communities located in Hughes County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Hughes County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Pierre   14,07213,8761.41% increase  
West Hughes   1,6581,49410.98% increase  
Blunt   3553704.05% decrease  
North Hughes   33623344.21% increase  
Crow Creek   28923622.46% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About South Dakota

Search for a South Dakota Community

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation