Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
South Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for South Dakota

Time Zone: Haakon County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Philip is the Seat for Haakon County.

Haakon County was founded in 1914 and was created by taking area from StanleyCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Haakon had a population of 1,777 people. This is a decrease of 19.08% since the last Census (which gave a population of 2,196 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Haakon represented 0.29% of the total population of South Dakota, making it the state's 59th most populous county (out of 66 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20101,937-11.79%+9% since 2009
20091,777-19.08%-0.5% since 2008
20081,786-18.67%-1.49% since 2007
20002,196The Last Census

More information can be found on the Haakon County Census Page for Haakon County.


Other Roadside Stops ...

About South Dakota

The Communities of South Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation