Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
South Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for South Dakota

Time Zone: Day County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Webster is the Seat for Day County.

Day County was founded in 1879 and was created by taking area from ClarkCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Day had a population of 5,509 people. This is a decrease of 12.1% since the last Census (which gave a population of 6,267 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Day represented 0.83% of the total population of South Dakota, making it the state's 30th most populous county (out of 66 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20105,710-8.89%+3.65% since 2009
20095,509-12.1%-0.29% since 2008
20085,525-11.84%-2.16% since 2007
20006,267The Last Census

More information can be found on the Day County Census Page for Day County.


Below are some of the communities located in Day County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Day County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Webster   1,6611,95214.91% decrease  
Waubay   58966211.03% decrease  
Bristol   32137714.85% decrease  
Roslyn   19322514.22% decrease  
Pierpont   10112217.21% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About South Dakota

Search for a Community located in South Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation