Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
South Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for South Dakota

Time Zone: Campbell County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Mound City is the Seat for Campbell County.

Campbell County was founded in 1873 and was created by taking area from BuffaloCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Campbell had a population of 1,344 people. This is a decrease of 24.58% since the last Census (which gave a population of 1,782 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Campbell represented 0.24% of the total population of South Dakota, making it the state's 62nd most populous county (out of 66 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20101,466-17.73%+9.08% since 2009
20091,344-24.58%-0.81% since 2008
20081,355-23.96%-2.52% since 2007
20001,782The Last Census

More information can be found on the Campbell County Census Page for Campbell County.


Below are some of the communities located in Campbell County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Campbell County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Herreid   35748225.93% decrease  
Pollock   24733927.14% decrease  
Mound City   648423.81% decrease  
Artas   101323.08% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About South Dakota

Search for a South Dakota Community

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation