Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Nebraska

Time Zone: Dakota County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Dakota City is the Seat for Dakota County.

Dakota County was founded in 1855 and was created by taking area from BurtCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Dakota had a population of 20,651 people. This is an increase of 1.97% since the last Census (which gave a population of 20,253 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Dakota represented 1.18% of the total population of Nebraska, making it the state's 15th most populous county (out of 93 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201021,006+3.72%+1.72% since 2009
200920,651+1.97%+1.53% since 2008
200020,253The Last Census

More information can be found on the Dakota County Census Page for Dakota County.


Below are some of the communities located in Dakota County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Dakota County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
South Sioux City   12,21311,9252.42% increase  
Dakota City   1,9081,8214.78% increase  
Emerson   8278171.22% increase  
Homer   6165904.41% increase  
Hubbard   2472345.56% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Nebraska

Index of Cities, Towns and Villages for Nebraska

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation