Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
North Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for North Dakota

Time Zone: McIntosh County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Ashley is the Seat for McIntosh County.

McIntosh County was founded in 1883.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> McIntosh had a population of 2,582 people. This is a decrease of 23.83% since the last Census (which gave a population of 3,390 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, McIntosh represented 0.53% of the total population of North Dakota, making it the state's 35th most populous county (out of 53 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20102,809-17.14%+8.79% since 2009
20092,582-23.83%-2.46% since 2008
20082,647-21.92%-2.79% since 2007
20003,390The Last Census

More information can be found on the McIntosh County Census Page for McIntosh County.


Below are some of the communities located in McIntosh County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for McIntosh County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Wishek   8561,12223.71% decrease  
Ashley   67288223.81% decrease  
Northwest McIntosh   31441424.15% decrease  
East McIntosh   27536524.66% decrease  
Southwest McIntosh   25333324.02% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About North Dakota

Find a Community in North Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation