Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
North Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for North Dakota

Time Zone: Logan County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Napoleon is the Seat for Logan County.

Logan County was founded in 1873.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Logan had a population of 1,886 people. This is a decrease of 18.28% since the last Census (which gave a population of 2,308 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Logan represented 0.36% of the total population of North Dakota, making it the state's 45th most populous county (out of 53 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20101,990-13.78%+5.51% since 2009
20091,886-18.28%-2.03% since 2008
20081,925-16.59%-1.38% since 2007
20002,308The Last Census

More information can be found on the Logan County Census Page for Logan County.


Below are some of the communities located in Logan County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Logan County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Napoleon   69185719.37% decrease  
East Logan   34041217.48% decrease  
Gackle   27533517.91% decrease  
West Logan   18222117.65% decrease  
Fredonia   425117.65% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About North Dakota

Index of Cities, Towns and Villages for North Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation