Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Mississippi

Time Zone: Marshall County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Holly Springs is the Seat for Marshall County.

Marshall County was founded in 1836 and was created by taking area from MonroeCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Marshall had a population of 36,900 people. This is an increase of 5.45% since the last Census (which gave a population of 34,993 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Marshall represented 1.23% of the total population of Mississippi, making it the state's 23rd most populous county (out of 82 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201037,144+6.15%+0.66% since 2009
200836,875+5.38%+1.04% since 2007
200034,993The Last Census

More information can be found on the Marshall County Census Page for Marshall County.


Below are some of the communities located in Marshall County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Marshall County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Holly Springs   7,8717,9571.08% decrease  
Byhalia   1,29970684% increase  
Potts Camp   5044942.02% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Mississippi

Communities in Mississippi

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation