Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Arizona

Time Zone: Santa Cruz County lies in the Mountain Standard Time Zone (MST) and does not observe daylight saving time.

The community of Nogales is the Seat for Santa Cruz County.

Santa Cruz County was founded in 1899. Santa Cruz was created by taking area from Cochise and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Santa Cruz had a population of 43,771 people. This is an increase of 14.04% since the last Census (which gave a population of 38,381 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Santa Cruz represented 0.75% of the total population of Arizona, making it the state's 12th most populous county (out of 15 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201047,420+23.55%+8.34% since 2009
200943,771+14.04%+1.48% since 2008
200843,133+12.38%+1.03% since 2007
200038,381The Last Census

More information can be found on the Santa Cruz County Census Page for Santa Cruz County.


Websites for Santa Cruz County

Official Website:   www.co.santa-cruz.az.us/

If you know of a history or genealogy society whose interest includes Santa Cruz County, would you please send us the URL for their website? We would like to add their link to our Gazetteer. To contact us, please visit our Feedback Page.

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Arizona

Search for a Community in Arizona

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation