Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Arkansas

Time Zone: Searcy County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Marshall is the Seat for Searcy County.

Searcy County was founded in 1838 and was created by taking area from MarionCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Searcy had a population of 7,944 people. This is a decrease of 3.84% since the last Census (which gave a population of 8,261 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Searcy represented 0.31% of the total population of Arkansas, making it the state's 74th most populous county (out of 75 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20108,195-0.8%+3.16% since 2009
20097,944-3.84%-1.08% since 2008
20088,031-2.78%-0.29% since 2007
20008,261The Last Census

More information can be found on the Searcy County Census Page for Searcy County.


Below are some of the communities located in Searcy County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Searcy County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Marshall   1,2661,3133.58% decrease  
Leslie   4604824.56% decrease  
Saint Joe   1258547.06% increase  
Pindall   91954.21% decrease  
Gilbert   373312.12% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Arkansas

Search for a Arkansas Community

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation