Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Arkansas

Time Zone: Marion County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Yellville is the Seat for Marion County.

Marion County was founded in 1835 and was created by taking area from IzardCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Marion had a population of 16,594 people. This is an increase of 2.81% since the last Census (which gave a population of 16,140 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Marion represented 0.6% of the total population of Arkansas, making it the state's 49th most populous county (out of 75 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201016,653+3.18%+0.36% since 2009
200916,594+2.81%-1.24% since 2008
200816,802+4.1%+1.16% since 2007
200016,140The Last Census

More information can be found on the Marion County Census Page for Marion County.


Below are some of the communities located in Marion County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Marion County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Bull Shoals   2,1232,0006.15% increase  
Yellville   1,3571,3123.43% increase  
Flippin   1,3561,357  
Summit   5805861.02% decrease  
Pyatt   2512530.79% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Arkansas

Cities, Towns and Villages of Arkansas

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation