Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Arkansas

Time Zone: Lafayette County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Lewisville is the Seat for Lafayette County.

Lafayette County was founded in 1827.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Lafayette had a population of 7,504 people. This is a decrease of 12.33% since the last Census (which gave a population of 8,559 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Lafayette represented 0.32% of the total population of Arkansas, making it the state's 73rd most populous county (out of 75 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20107,645-10.68%+1.88% since 2009
20097,504-12.33%-2.15% since 2008
20087,669-10.4%-0.61% since 2007
20008,559The Last Census

More information can be found on the Lafayette County Census Page for Lafayette County.


Below are some of the communities located in Lafayette County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Lafayette County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Stamps   1,8582,13112.81% decrease  
Lewisville   1,1191,28512.92% decrease  
Bradley   50356310.66% decrease  
Buckner   34739612.37% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Arkansas

Cities, Towns and Villages of Arkansas

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation