Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Alabama

Time Zone: Barbour County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Clayton is the Seat for Barbour County.

Barbour County was founded in 1832 and was created by taking area from PikeCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Barbour had a population of 29,737 people. This is an increase of 2.41% since the last Census (which gave a population of 29,038 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Barbour represented 0.65% of the total population of Alabama, making it the state's 39th most populous county (out of 67 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201027,457-5.44%-7.67% since 2009
200929,737+2.41%-0.33% since 2008
200829,836+2.75%+0.34% since 2007
200029,038The Last Census

More information can be found on the Barbour County Census Page for Barbour County.


Below are some of the communities located in Barbour County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Barbour County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Eufaula   14,52113,9084.41% increase  
Clio   2,3542,2066.71% increase  
Clayton   1,3921,4755.63% decrease  
Louisville   5726126.54% decrease  
Blue Springs   1181212.48% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Alabama

Visit our Community Index for Alabama

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation